top of page

Ride Report, Epic Ride w/video 2/10/15

So I get this message on facebook asking about the new trails in Sturt Gorge, turns out its from a young shredder (Jack Skewes) who is super keen to check out some new trails. This guy is suprisingly quick and Im always up to show someone around.

I agree to meet him at Lynton as some crazy early time and we head out into the slightly chilly trails. I will admit I did struggle to keep up a little with the blistering pace Jack set. I was struggling a little with lack of sleep and knew how much climbing I had in front of me.

I knew there was a reason why I got up so early in the morning. The photo above was taken in the bottom of Sturt Gorge. It is incredibly beautiful there with wildflowers and a clear, running creek. The trail alongside the creek was a little slippery due to lack of sunlight and a couple of the rocky outcrops are a bit techy. One of which I still have not mastered.

The descent from the ridgeline back into the gorge was awesome, especially since I have now ridden the trails a few times now. I managed to avoid the ditch I crashed in the first time I rode it with Dave.

I found the Panorama setting on my compact camera. You can really see the different colours in the photos above and below. Ranging from reds and browns to bright greens and yellows of the grass and flowers, it really is the best time to ride mountain bikes. We dropped into the Flinders Uni trails after climbing out of Sturt Gorge, having seen a snake or two. By this time both Jack and I were getting a little tired so we took it a little quieter on the descent to sheppards hill.

Taking the shortest route through Sheppards hill with a small hike-a-bike back to the top of Lynton, we finished the ride with a blast down Tunnel-X-Over. It was great to follow a new rider and check out some different lines from what I normally ride. All up, it was an awesome ride. You can find a link to strava at the bottom.

Jack lovin' it out by Flagstaff Hill looking towards the ocean in the distance.

Panorama next to the old train tunnel at Lynton. This trail is an awesome chute to ride down and a challenging Hike-a-Bike up.

One of the challenging, slippery rock sections in the bottom of Sturt Gorge. If you screw up here, your in the creek.

Feeling buggered after 50km. Not to mention a bit warm. See Ya next time....

Strava Link:

Thanks to:

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
bottom of page