top of page

Sturt Gorge Hot Lap - Ride Report

Wow, Adelaide is having some weird weather. The morning started out warm and then these massive thunder clouds rolled in dropping the temperature somewhat. Most of Sturt Gorge was no where near the clouds so I asked Facebook if anyone was keen to ride. Much to my surprise, Dave Hughes from Melrose and until recently the USA replied and was keen to ride. Dave has spent the last few months cruising around some of the best riding in the US.

After a quick loop around Craigburn Farm including one flat tyre (someday Ill learn not to run lightweight XC tyres) we headed for Sturt Gorge. Wow this ride was warm, with an average of 32 degrees and up to 35 in one spot we were certainly sweating it out. There was a little relief when we dropped into the bottom of the gorge but the fire road climbs were pretty hard. I was feeling great on the bike and loving my flat pedals. I feel a lot more comfortable to trust my tyres in corners when I know that I can quickly dab a foot.

Sturt gorge was as good as I remember with heaps of rolling jumps berms and corners. After a rest stop at the scout hall it was time to move on. I was hoping to have a couple more riders join us but the heat and work were too much for them.

De Rose DH is still one of the best trails around. I just wish it was 4 times as long. The 29er hardtail is surprisingly good fun to ride on these trails, fast and efficient. I definately managed to get it a little sideways in the corners.

After finishing De Rose DH it was time to climb again. There are some pretty sweet spots along the climb that I'd really like to get some photos, but that will have to wait for another time. I wasnt sure if I'd make it back to Craigburn, by this time both Dave and I were pretty screwed. We managed to get there with no walking and we survived the heat.

Until next time.....

Thanks to:

Mega Bike

Syntace

SQLab

EightyOneSpices


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
bottom of page