top of page

Tuesday Night Ride Report

While bored in a Uni practical, I was crusing facebook (as you do) and discovered that Krischan from EightOneSpices was heading out for an evening/night ride around the new trails in Sheppards Hill. As soon as I could I was out of uni and sprinting home to grab my bike. A quick sprint down Goodwood Rd later and I was catching up with the guys in the sheppards hill carpark. Swapping stories and checking out new gear, it was great to catch up with them as I had not seen them since before NZ.

Ride map at Bottom

Sorry about the picture quality, only had my compact.

We headed towards the new DH trails, DH1, DH2 and DH3 as the sun got lower and lower. At this stage I wasn't feeling so great due to a foggy head and tired eyes from staring at computers for so long.

The new DH trails are awesome with many technical features suitable for different levels of riding. Sure the trails are short however that makes them great for repeats. Down the trail and then a short sprint back to the top.

By the time we had ridden each trail a couple of times, it was starting to get dark and someone suggested that we head over to the other side of the valley towards lynton. Stopping to put our lights on we ran into a couple of other groups out. I dont think Ive run into so many riders in one place on a week night in Adelaide.

After a short singletrack climb and a long grind up a fire road (great for the heartrate) we looped down towards the Adelaide plains. It was interesting riding a dusty trail at night with other riders ahead. Visibility and depth perception quickly went out the window, I took it a little quietly.

Ducking back down into the valley we hooked back around the side of one of the ridgelines. Bit of a steep climb later and we were back at the top. One of the lads took a tumble trying a short cut through some grass. I think he hooked a large root/stick. After dusting him off and checking his bike we headed back towards the carpark and home.

The ride map can be found below.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
bottom of page